Charlotta Falkman appointed chair of the Swedish Bar Association’s Penalty Committee

Through a revision of the Code of Judicial Procedure, the penalties that the Disciplinary Committee of the Swedish Bar Association may order in case of a breach of the ethical rules are increased to range between SEK 10,000 – 250,000. A lawyer sanctioned to pay penalties shall henceforth have the right to appeal that decision to a newly established committee, the Penalty Committee of the Swedish Bar Association. The new rules will take effect on 1 January 2024.

We are proud to announce that the annual meeting of the Swedish Bar Association has appointed our colleague Charlotta Falkman as chair of the Penalty Committee. The lawyer Johanna Björkman has been appointed vice chair. Other members of the committee are the lawyer Sophie Palmgren Paulsson, former Court of Appeal President Lennart Svensäter and former Justice Lars Edlund. Deputy members are the lawyers Pär Andersson, Andreas Victor and Paula Save and the former Justices Johnny Herre and Magnus Widebeck.

Link to the preparatory works of the new legislation (Swedish only): Regeringens proposition 2022/23:135 (Vissa frågor om justitieråd och om advokater).